Useful Links

Pharmaceuticals for Medicine Without Borders
Research done on valuable botanical pharmaceutical information for cures for many of the world's diseases. Entirely free information offered to empower individuals who may suffer from these diseases.

National Institute of Medical Herbalists 
Founded in 1864, NIMH is the oldest body of professional practising herbalists in the western world. Information and frequently asked questions about herbs. Click to See More!!


Member Login

Who's Online

We have one guest and no members online


Articles View Hits

Brief History

This institution was established in July 1974 as Department of Pharmacy in Faculty of Medicine with assistance of a grant from British council. The first intake of 16 students had to take most of their first year basic science courses at the main Campus of the University of Dar es Salaam, together with B.Sc. General, B.Sc. Education and B.Sc. Geology students. Fifteen of these students graduated three years later, in 1977. Most of the lecturers who started off the course were expatriates from Britain, Kenya and Malawi . Since then we have been producing quality pharmacists who are now the backbone of the Health care system in Tanzania and neighboring countries.

The Faculty of Pharmacy was established in 1991 under constituent College of the University of Dar es Salaam, which became the Muhimbili University College of Health Sciences (MUCHS) in 2000. In the year 2003, in line with the drive for MUCHS to become a full-fledged University, the Faculty of Pharmacy was accorded a School status in preparation for expansion of its functions. The school continues to exist after the establishment of a full-fledged university Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS).Currently, the School has a total of 25 Tanzanian Academicians.The school is confined in a 2 storey building that was constructed in 1977.Currently, the School has a total of 25 Tanzanian academicians.

Former Deans

  1. Prof. C. M. Nshimo (1994-1998)
  2. Dr. M. Chambuso (1998-2003)
  3. Prof. O. Ngasapa (2003-2009)
  4. Dr. M. Chambuso (2009-2012)
  5. Prof. V. Mugoyela (2012-2015)
  6. Prof. G. Kagashe (2015-todate)

Contact US

P.O. Box 65013
Dar es Salaam
Tel: Direct: +255-22-2151680, Tel: +255 22 2150302-6 (Ext. 1008 Dean, 1276 OMS)
Fax: +255-022-2150465